• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Because all the cool kids are doing it

penny lane

Verified
Hi, my name is Penny and I'm an addict. Wait, wrong forum. ;)

Unlike many here on this forum, I wasn't born with the tickling gene. I'm a convert. I really can't recall when I first discovered this site. I think it was like, in 2002 or 2003, I googled the T word and this was one of the sites that came up. I just lurked for a couple of years. Then I attended a gathering which didn't go very well and vowed to never attend another. After some time had passed, I decided to try again and dvnc made it a positive experience for me. So I decided to keep him.

Outside of the forum I'm a teacher...which also means that I'm a parent, guardian, and counselor. Hopefully, I'll have my master's in Education before I turn 40.

Best aspects about my job:

- The 'ah-ha' moment: when you introduce your students to something new or particularly interesting. They get a look on their face that shows they are amazed at what they're learning...it's great!
-June, July, August (seriously)
-Lots of laughs and fun with the kids, celebrating holidays, birthdays
-Exposure to lots of different types of children with lots of different perspectives on this world

The not-so-best aspects of my job:

-Uncooperative and apathetic parents
-Over-involved and 'helicopter' parents (who hover over their kiddies)
-Being expected to be a teacher all the time...You're kind of a public figure
-NCLB (hopefully Obama will reform it) and mandatory state testing

This can be a pro or a con, but you tend to live a lot through your students and 'bring stuff home with you'. Not necessarily the paperwork stuff, but emotional stuff. Some of it is good, and some of it is the bad stuff that makes your heart ache.