• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

What's the best free drawing computer program?

BigNorm

3rd Level Violet Feather
i'm looking to start drawing, and i need something better than MS Paint. i don't wanna spend money, but i want something that will let me draw better quality pictures even though i'm a crappy artist, hehe.

Hi there Norm.

Need a pointer? I'd say Jasc's Paint Shop Pro is a good choice.

It is sharewere, but comes with uncrippled features, and you can test it for a while.

If you want to go full-free, Pixia could be a viable choice.

Best luck!

I have Paintshop Pro 7, Master Cartman. While I've only used it twice thus far to color two of my pictures, the program proved to be verstile, easy to use, and it gave me the results I wanted. Paintshop Pro 8 is out now, so I wouldn't know how much better it is than PSP7, or if you should even invest in it. You can/should probably get PSP7. Alot of the times it can happen that an artist prefers an older program over a newer, updated one, as the old program works fine for them and their needs. Scamwich for example has used the industry standard (Photoshop) but used older versions for a while before upgrading to the newer ones.

Sometimes it can work out to an artist's best interests to become fimiliar with a program before upgrading to the new one that is available (if any).

But since money is an issue for you, as it is for me also and alot of people, I'd suggest Paintshop Pro 7. You can find it pretty much anywhere that would sell computer art programs, and since PSP8 is out now, PSP7 should be affordable for you.