• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Trained vs Self taught

tickle gamer

3rd Level Red Feather
Hi All! Now, before anyone says anything, let me point out that I'm NOT talking about flying a plane, or driving a car, or anything like that. I mean like basic skills, like cooking, or crafts.

Like, my dad was trained to be a chief (actually, I think he was trained to be a chief when he was in the army), whereas, my mom was self taught. My dad used recipe cards for about everything he made, whereas, my mom hardly ever used recipe cards (except for the harder things, like, say a cake).

And, my mom's food was better.

So, where do you fall on this, trained or self taught?

It's chef, not chief.

I went from prep cook to sous chef in 3 years with no schooling or formal training, but my mentor was a Michelin star chef and between him, books, and online resources, I learned how to cook pretty well. Certain techniques, tools, and flavor profiles it's better to make sure you're doing it properly or making a correct pairing.

I've noticed many executive chefs prefer cooks who haven't gone to culinary school, but rather learned the ways of the kitchen through experience. A lot of wanna be celebrity chefs go to culinary school and have no idea what it's like in a hot kitchen full of ex cons and drug addicts lol

Of course everyone is different. If you're working as a cook, you NEED to follow recipes. You don't have a choice. If you're cooking at home, you can obviously do whatever you want.

I imagine training for army cooking is probably a bit different - more.emphasis on stretching ingredients and feeding everyone vs making the shit taste / look good for a paying customer.