• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

Can being tickled give you a heart attack?

Lee Ishler

TMF Expert
Can being tickled give you a heart attack? Are you more at risk of this if you have high blood pressure? I never really thought about it, but now that I'm getting older, I wonder.

I'm sure it can probably happen. How likely it is, I'm not sure.

I think that it is possible. Much more is long the tickling torture, much more percentage that it can happen.

Standard disclaimer that I'm no expert. I believe a heart attack is the effect of sufficient blood not reaching the heart, usually because veins or arteries become too blocked to allow it to circulate freely enough. The heart needs more blood than usual when the body is more active, and the worse the circulation, the more of a task that is. My impression is that risk of a heart attack is more closely associated with long-term eating habits than with age, but could be correlated generally with age.

This is a different basic issue than heart failure caused by the heart muscle itself becoming weak.

(If anyone here is a professional in this area, please feel free to correct or add to this.)

Thanks for all who replied. I think this is something someone would likely be aware of before even getting into such a scenario...like if you were already having problems along this line, and your doctor tells you to be careful doing any strenuous exercise, etc. So far this has not happened with me, but I'd think the older you get, the more careful you need to be. I haven't been lucky enough to have any real life tickling experiences, but if I did, as a lee, I think I'd probably know if the whole thing was too much of a strain, once I'm involved with it.