• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

'Great' novels you just didn't get

Catcher in the Rye was vomitous, self-indulgent, angst-riddled, maudlin, pajama-boy, whinery. As was Dead Poet's Society... and most anything where Stephen King is mewling about his formative years.

get me a bucket

I essentially read for a living so the downside of that, is for the past 16 years or so I have done far less reading in my free time than I did before. But I will agree with the sentiments of Catcher in the Rye, I did not enjoy it all that much. And I might be one of the few women my age that does not like Jane Austen, but I just feel like her novels often drone on and on.

Last edited:
Catcher in the Rye, for sure, but I think I might have read it too late in life. I was 26 and mostly it kind of annoyed me. On the Road is another one...no sir, I didn't like it.

Frankenstein-I just read this one recently like a year or two ago. Prior to that I had seen all of the universal movies about it and I really liked the movies but the novel is really different from it. I like the novel as well though and I thought it was interesting that in the movies the monster pretty much just grunts and groans but in the book is actually able to speak and is quite articulate and philosophical. The 1994 Mary Shelley's Frankenstein actually stuck very close to the book and I enjoyed it for that reason. I also read in the same month Dracula and Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde. I was reading them all in October for Halloween. Frankenstein was my favorite of the three although I did like the other two, just not as much. And I have seen most of the film versions as well.

Agreed. I love everything about Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, both novel and movie.