• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

What would YOU do in this situation?

Phineas

1st Level Orange Feather
First, a little background.

I will be 29 years old this month. I have been married to a woman my exact same age (29) for about three years. Don't know how relevant that is to what I'm about to say, but if it helps, there ya go.

I received my Bachelor's in Computer Science in 1996. All my life I have wanted to be a computer game programmer, and indeed it was the entire reason I got a degree in Computer Science. I was unable to land a job in the gaming field right out of school, as game companies prefer their new hires to be a little less clueless than a college grad. Not confident with my aptitudes scholastically (B+ GPA, but I am often overly hard on myself), and insistent upon making money, I went looking for a regular job in the computing industry and a programmer.

After a year or so at a company I really didn't like, I jumped ship as soon as the company was sold to a larger company. A week AFTER I jumped ship, the company was dismantled and the office I'd worked at closed. My next position was as a server-side web programmer with a small local company. I reported directly to the CEO, and I flourished. I was, it turned out, a pretty damn good web programmer, and figured I'd found my second "calling" beyond game programming. I was well-paid, in charge of a team of coders, and all was well.