• The TMF is sponsored by Clips4sale - By supporting them, you're supporting us.
  • >>> If you cannot get into your account email me at [email protected] <<<
    Don't forget to include your username

The TMF is sponsored by:

Clips4Sale Banner

AVOID TINNITUS, 24/7 Ringing in Ears, no cure! Careful w/headphones!! Unexpected

FrenzyTickles

TMF Master
AVOID TINNITUS! Continuous Ringing in Ears. Hell. "DOWNSIDE OF WEARING NOISE-CANCELING HEADPHONES"

Disclaimer: Not my experience, I'm no doctor, I don't know if this is the only way to acquire or avoid this (torture).
A friend has it, I hope a cure is discovered.

www.quora.com

Tim Denning
Top blogger on Medium.com in the category of Life LessonsWed

What is something nobody tells you, but you wish you knew earlier?
I wish someone told me earlier about the downsides of wearing noise-canceling headphones.

Today I learned that the high-pitched noise in my ear is tinnitus.

I wouldn’t wish this sh*t on my worst enemy.

Tinnitus fits the definition of insanity.

Imagine every moment of your day being punctuated by a deafening high-pitched noise. That’s what my life is now like.

How it happened

I spent my youth in nightclubs and playing drums. By my 20s, I gave up music.

But I still loved listening to music and pumping tunes.

Rewind to two years ago.

My girlfriend gifted me a pair of Bose noise-canceling headphones.

I’ve said many times online that these headphones help me get into a deep flow state and block out all the noise.

The problem is I f*cked it up.

I’ve worn the headphones most days for the last 2 years during the entire 8-hour workday.

2.5 weeks ago, the high-pitched noise I used to get after work stopped going away like it normally does.

I saw the doctor today and got told it’s tinnitus.

Oh … and there’s no cure.

Takeaway

Wearing headphones every day can screw up your ears.

Lower the volume of your music (by a lot).

Take breaks from headphones.

Have days where you don’t wear headphones.