I know that the umpire clearly blew the call and that it should in fact be a perfect game. However, although the umpire is entirely to blame for the missed call, perhaps Miguel Cabrera avoids this catastrophy all together if he plays his own position? He literally takes over the second baseman's territory to make this play, and although just about 99.9% of people say he was doing his job, he is forcing the pitcher to sprint to 1st base and deal with a "timing" play to get the last out of a perfect game. If the perfect game is not on the line, Cabrera would not have gone over that far to second base territory to grab that ball. He would've let the 2nd baseman cleanly field it and get the easy out at first base. Sometimes people try too hard to play "hero" in these situations and unfortunate events ensue. Now, it is still entirely the umpire's fault, but if we throw semantics into play, perhaps looking back this never even becomes a mistaken call in the first place if Cabrera doesn't try to be the hero.
Flame away at me as I'm sure you will, but it is still a legitimate point because any time a pitcher is running to first base, the umpire tends to be out of position to catch everything at once. The umpire is trying to watch to see if the pitcher cleanly holds onto the ball at the same time as getting his foot on the back before the runner, while they are both racing to the bag simultaneously. NONE of this happens if the 2nd baseman fields the ball that was clearly hit to him and Cabrera goes to 1st where he belonged on the play.
Flame away at me as I'm sure you will, but it is still a legitimate point because any time a pitcher is running to first base, the umpire tends to be out of position to catch everything at once. The umpire is trying to watch to see if the pitcher cleanly holds onto the ball at the same time as getting his foot on the back before the runner, while they are both racing to the bag simultaneously. NONE of this happens if the 2nd baseman fields the ball that was clearly hit to him and Cabrera goes to 1st where he belonged on the play.
Last edited: